Rockford Area Chapter

National Philanthropy Day


Ethical Standards
Board Listing
2015 Goals
Employment Ops
Philanthropy Links
Honor Your Own
Philanthropy Day
Member Area

2017 National Philanthropy Day
Award Presentation and Luncheon
Wednesday, November 15, 2017
Forest Hills Country Club

Thanks to our Presenting Sponsor


Click here for a look at pictures of the event on Facebook


The Rockford Chapter of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP) is pleased to announce the celebration of Philanthropy Day 2017. National Philanthropy Day® (NPD) is a special day set aside in November to recognize the great contributions of philanthropy--and those people active in the philanthropic community--to the enrichment of our world.

National Philanthropy Day® provides an opportunity to reflect on the meaning of giving and all that it has made possible. First held in 1986, NPD celebrates the endless daily contributions individuals and organizations across the world make to countless causes and missions. Through NPD, participants are able to show appreciation for all that has been accomplished in the name of giving, as well as show that there is still more to do. It’s our chance to step into the spotlight for a brief moment and remind our communities, our society and the world that the spirit of giving is alive and well.

For more information or to inquire about participating as a sponsor or nominator, please contact our event coordinator: Nicole Clewer at (608) 363-2657 or

Register Online to attend 2017 National Philanthropy Day

There are six awards promoted locally that are open for public nominations.

1. Outstanding Philanthropist Award
This award recognizes an individual or family for contributions to one or more organizations in Northern Illinois. The individual or family must have a proven record of exceptional generosity through direct financial support and demonstrate outstanding civic and charitable responsibility.

2. Outstanding Corporation or Foundation
Corporations or foundations are honored for outstanding commitment and financial support of philanthropic causes in Northern Illinois. The award recognizes a business or foundation whose generosity has greatly benefited the community, as well as encouraged and motivated others to assume leadership roles toward causes of philanthropy.

3. Outstanding Fundraising Volunteer Award
This outstanding individual must have demonstrated exceptional leadership skills coordinating major fundraising campaigns and motivating groups of fundraising volunteers for the benefit of charitable institutions.

4. Outstanding Community Service Volunteer Award
This outstanding individual must have made a significant impact by providing support through gifts of their time and talents to a number of organizations in the not-for-profit community.

5. Future Philanthropist Award
This award honors an individual or group of young people, 18 to 24 years of age, for extraordinary volunteer fundraising efforts on behalf of philanthropic causes.

6. Presidential Youth Service Award
This award recognizes exemplary leadership and generosity of spirit in an elementary, middle or high school student or group of students whose selfless efforts have benefitted a good cause in the community. Young people who receive this award represent the best of humanity and good citizenship and serve as an inspiration to all.

Sponsorship Opportunities & Form

NPD Award Information and Nomination Form (PDF)

Important Note
Use the link below to nominate candidates online.
However, If you do nominate online, you must complete the
entire process at one sitting. You will not be able to log-in again to complete it later.
Nominate NPD Candidates Online

Philanthropy Day Award Recipients
AFP Rockford Area Chapter

Outstanding Philanthropist -
Indivdual, Corporation, Foundation
2016 John & Fran Morrissey
2016 Club Blue
2015 Stephen and Dorothy Baits
2015 Members Alliance Credit Union
2014 Michael V. and Mary LaLoggia

2014 V2 Marketing Communications/
        Kathy Velasco
2013 John and Roberta Mink
2013 The Blazer Foundation
2012 Edward & Mary Rounds
2012 BMO Harris Bank
2011 Nicholas Family
2011 Savant Capital Management
2011 Rockford Memorial Dev. Foundation
2010 Try-Beta Foundation
2010 Anderson Packaging
2010 Ralph Kreissler
2010 Suil Puri and Family
2009 James Boeger
2009 Alpine Bank
2009 Dean Alan Olson Foundation
2008 Anne and Norm Meyers
2008 SwedishAmerican Medical Foundation

2008 Gloyd Family Foundation

2007 LoRayne Logan
2007 Richard D. Nordlof
2007 Aqua-Aerobic Systems, Inc.
2006 Robert W. Stenstrom
2005 Richard and Grace Leighton
2005 Rockford Cosmopolitan Club
2004 The Funderburg Family
2004 Specialty Screw Corporation
2003 Wayne & Judy Timpe
2003 Rockford Products Corporation
2002 John McDonough
2002 BankOne Foundation
2001 Delores and Dick Martin
2001 Rockford Health System Auxiliary
2001 Sjostrom & Sons, Inc
2000 Janet Kjellstrom
2000 Marshall Fields
2000 Rockford East/Cherry Valley Rotary
1998 Bergstrom Charitable Foundation
1998 Rockford Noon Lions Club
1997 Robert & Jane Solem
1997 William Howard Charitable Trust
1997 Rockford Downtown Kiwanis
1996 Cedric & Tara Blazer
1995 Polly W. Griffin
1994 Alpine Kiwanis Charities
1993 Barber Colman Funds
1992 Clint Maslen
1991 First National Bank & Trust
1990 Smith Charitable Foundation
1989 Woodward Governor
1989 AMCORE Foundation
1987 Sundstrand Foundation
1986 Svenson Foundation
1985 Gannett Foundation
1985 CLARCOR Foundation

Outstanding Young Fundraising Volunteer
2008 Stephanie Baliga

Outstanding Young Philanthropist
2008 Benjamin Dixon

Future Philanthropist
2016 Christiana Belonger
2015 Association of Latin American Students
2014 K Cancer Baseball Youth Advisory Board
2013 Clare, Anna and Grace Dailey
2012 Riley Kegley

Outstanding Fund Raising Volunteer
2016 UICM Gary Kaatz
2015 Father David Beauvais
2014 Lisa Normoyle
2013 Paula Turner
2012 Betty Willard
2010 Steve Nailor
2009 Donald A. Mosser
2008 Jane Smith
2007 John Crone
2006 William C. Roop
2005 Phil Turner
2004 James Keeling
2003 Sue Lakin
2002 None
2001 James Waddell
2000 Joe Bussone
1999 Mary Ann Smith
1998 Roger K. Taylor
1997 Jack W. Packard
1996 Alvin Becker
1996 Leonard Carmichael
1995 Lawrence Gloyd
1994 Charles G. Uram
1993 Carl J.Dargene
1992 Nancy Olson
1991 Georganne Eggers
1990 Roger Reese
1989 Kent A. Mallquist
1989 Allan C. Mallquist
1988 Tref Harnois
1987 J. Peter Jeffrey
1986 Daniel J. Nicholas
1985 Harry E. Ritter

Outstanding Community Service Volunteer
2016 Hazen Tuck
2015 Barb Berman
2015 Ted Brolund
2014 Steve McIntosh and Greg Schwanke
2013 Sheri White
2012 Bob McLaughlin
2010 Kent Mallquist
2009 Douglas J. Brooks
2008 Armer Severin
2007 Josephine “Jody” Deery
2006 Patrick T. Derry
2005 Jim and Julie Watt
2004 Mike Broski
2003 John Mink
2002 Dorothy Galloway
2001 Arthur Anderson
2001 Winnebago County Medical Society
2000 Daniel Loescher
2000 The Junior League of Rockford
1997 Teresa Ingrassia
1997 23 WIFR TV
1998 Paul Logli
1998 13 WREX-TV
1995 Saturn of Rockford
1996 Rockford AMBUCS
1995 WTVO News Channel 17

Presidential Youth Service Award
2016 Girl Scouts Mariner Ship 361
2015 Girl Scout Troop 3223
2014 Max Freund
2013 Auburn Key Club
2012 PIT Crew of North Boone HS
2011 Taylor Staman
2010 Jack O'Neil
2010 Delta Student Ministry
2009 None

AFP-Rockford Area Chapter
, P.O. Box 4663, Rockford, IL 61110-4663
© 2010-2018, All Rights Reserved.